Small House of Everything

Small House of Everything

Thursday, November 19, 2015


From July 21, 1955, here's a half hour show based on Stephen Vincent Benet's poem "The Revolt of the Machines," also known as "Nightmare Number Three.""

X Minus One was a science fiction anthology series that ran from April 1955 to the beginning of January 1958 on NBC radio.  The show began as a revival of the network's 1950-1 series Dimension X.   The first fifteen episodes (which included this one, the eleventh) were rewrites of shows that appeared on the first series.  The remaining shows were written by NBC staffers and were based on published science fiction stories by such writers as Ray Bradbury, Murray Leinster, William Tenn, Robert A. Heinlein, Nelson S. Bond, Isaac Asimov, H. Beam Piper, James E. Gunn, Clifford D. Simak, L. Sprague de Camp, Fredric Brown, Fritz Leiber,and  Philip K. Dick.  Many of the episodes of 1955 were based on (and promoted as) stories published in John W. Campbell's Astounding Science Fiction; from 1956, the stories were taken from Galaxy Science Fiction.

"Nightmare" was adapted by George Lefferts and starred John Gibson, Joyce Gordon, Louis van Rooten, Joe Julian, and Santos Ortega.  Fred Collins was the announcer.

Can machines unite to revolt against their human masters?  Listen, and see.

No comments:

Post a Comment